The success of the AAST is due largely to volunteer committee members who provide an invaluable service to the association. By contributing through diverse activities and projects, committees and councils assist the organization in advancing and promoting the sleep technology profession.

Service on a committee or council is a three-year appointment.  AAST currently has five standing committees and two councils on which members can serve:

  • CEC Accreditation Committee
  • Program Committee
  • Standards and Guidelines Committee
  • Healthcare Reform Committee
  • Educational Advisory Committee
  • Membership Advisory Council
  • Strategic Content Council
  • Technology Task Force

CEC Accreditation Committee 

The charge of the CEC Accreditation Committee is to review and recommend CE credits for sleep educational activities, including courses, lectures, workshops and computer based learning activities ensuring that all meet high standards and fulfill the CEC Program criteria approved by the AAST Board of Directors.

Steven Lenik, RPSGT, RST, Committee Chair
Charli Evans, RPSGT, RST, Committee Vice Chair
Julie DeWitte, RPSGT, RST, CRT, Board Liaison 
Jon Atkinson, BS, RPSGT, CCSH, FAAST
Daniel Herold, RPSGT
Lisa Bond,  RPSGT, RST
Thomas Finstuen, RPSGT, RST, R. EEG T.
Gerald George Mannikarote, MBBS, MBA, RPSGT
Byron Jamerson, RPSGT, RST, CCSH
Tiffany Guthrie, RPSGT, RST, CCSH
Kristina Davis, RPSGT, RST

Program Committee

The charge of the Program Committee is to prepare the educational program content for the AAST Annual Meeting, and courses that meet the training and continuing education needs of the sleep profession. The Program Committee, working with designated staff, will identify relevant, diverse and cutting-edge topics and associated speakers to include within annual meeting schedule to meet the educational needs of the AAST membership and conference attendees.

Laree Fordyce, RPSGT, RST, CCRP, Committee Chair
Pamela DeYoung, BA, RPSGT, Committee Vice Chair
Michael Eden, RPSGT, RST, Board Liaison 
Marietta Bibbs, BA, RPSGT, CCSH
Sarah L. Brennecka, BA, RPSGT
Connstance Shivers-Smith, RPSGT, RST
Laurie Skinger, RST
Gary Lavalette, CRT, RPSGT, RST
Deborah Holderman, RPSGT
Andrea Ramberg, RPSGT, CCSH

Standards and Guidelines Committee

The charge of the Standards and Guidelines Committee is to develop and update appropriate technical guidelines and competencies, position statements, educational guidelines, care plans, and other tools for evaluation and monitoring patients with sleep disorders based on literature review, expert opinion, consensus, and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine accreditation standards and Clinical Practice Parameters.  

Matthew Anastasi, RPSGT, RST, Committee Chair

T. Massey Arrington, MBA, RPSGT, RST, CCSH, Committee Vice Chair

Laree Fordyce, RPSGT, RST, CCRP, Board Liaison 
Lata Casturi, MS,  RPSGT, RST, CCSH,
T. Massey Arrington, MBA, RPSGT, RST, CCSH
Russell E. Rozensky, MS, RRT-SDS, CPFT, RPSGT
Cynthia Roth, RPSGT, RST, CCSH, CRT

Educational Advisory Committee

The Education Advisory Resource Committee (EAC) is a resource group of volunteers who will be guided by the AAST staff to strategize initiatives, guide best practices, and serve as ambassadors. Advisory members are visionaries, thought-leaders, strategizers, and ambassadors that come from AAST’s many constituencies.

Rich Rosenberg, PhD, Committee Chair
David Wolfe, RPSGT, RST, RRT-SDS, Board Liaison 
Emerson Kerr, RPSGT, RRT
Deb Guerrero, RPSGT, RRT
Tamara Sellman, RPSGT, CCSH
Daniel Lane, BS, RPSGT, CCSH
Patrick Strollo, MD, FCCP, FAASM
Laura Linley, RPSGT

Healthcare Reform Committee

The charge of the Healthcare Reform Committee is to define and defend the sleep technologist’s unique professional occupation within value-based healthcare and establish outcomes-based documents that support its impact on patient safety. The purpose of this committee is derives from the need to defend non-adherence consequences to population health and the critical role sleep technologists play in reducing the cost of non-adherence. This committee will identify a body of outcomes-based research and catalog existing gaps in the current literature that supports both the increase in quality and reduction in cost when sleep education services are utilized.

Robyn Woidtke, MSN, RN, RPSGT, CCSH, CCP, Committee Co-Chair
Laura Linley, CRT, RPSGT, FAAST, Co-Chair
Kristina Weaver, EMPT-P, RPSGT, Board Liaison 
Daniel Lane, BS, RPSGT, CCSH
Theresa Shumard
Chris Hope, MD, MHA
Marietta Bibbs, BA, RPSGT, CCSH

Strategic Content Council

The Strategic Content Council will help guide the content strategy for AAST, playing an instrumental role in the development of themes and topics, identifying sources, and providing input on content format and channels for delivery.

Brendan Duffy, RPSGT, RST, CCSH, Chair
Bretton Hevener, BS, RPSGT
Kimberly Trotter
Tamara Sellman
Sarah L. Brennecka, BA, RPSGT

Membership Advisory Council

The Membership Advisory Council will support membership recruitment, renewal and engagement imperatives. This group will assist with outreach and will connect with members one-on-one, sharing thoughts and insights on perceived member value.

Sherri Hanson, RPSGT, RST, Chair
Rui de Sousa, RPSGT, RST,  Vice Chair
Brendan Duffy, RPSGT, RST, CCSH, Board Liaison
Kimi Clark, RPSGT, RST
Lisa Endee, BS, RRT-SDS, RPSGT
Marlene Grady, RPSGT, RST
Sonya Abercrombie, RPSGT
Tracy L. Kopp, RPSGT, CCSH, CRT
Kevin Asp,  RPSGT, CRT

Technology Task Force

Define the role of the sleep wellness professional in interpreting, improving and ensuring patient understanding and appropriate use of sleep medicine data.

Bretton Hevener, BS, RPSGT, Task Force Chair
Kent Caylor, RPSGT
Kevin Asp, RPSGT, CRT
Rui de Sousa, RPSGT, RST
Alanna Cornish, RPSGT, RST